AI Tools For Me

Best Cold Email Software (2026): 5 Cold Email Tools by How You Prospect

This page has no affiliate links right now: every link goes straight to the vendor. If that changes, we'll say so here. How we make money.

Cold email software sends personalized emails and follow-ups to prospects who don't know you yet, while protecting your inbox's reputation.

The best cold email software for you depends on how you prospect: a big list and lots of email, email plus lead data, several channels at once, or LinkedIn first. Below we compare five tools on sending limits, warmup, lead data and price, checked on each vendor's own pricing page.

The short answer

For cheap high-volume sending, start with Instantly ($47/mo). For lead data built in, pick lemlist ($69/mo) or, per seat with a free plan, Apollo ($65/seat/mo). For extra channels or an AI SDR, try Reply.io (from $59/mo). LinkedIn-first? Dripify ($79/user/mo).

Quick picks

ToolTypeBest forStarts atFree option
InstantlyCold email senderHigh-volume cold email on a budget$47/mo billed monthly ($37.60/mo billed yearly)“Start free”, no card; trial length not stated
lemlistSales engagement platformPersonalized outreach with lead data built in$69/mo billed monthly ($55/mo billed yearly)14-day free trial, no card
Reply.ioSales engagement platformMultichannel sequences with an AI SDR option$59/mo billed monthly for 1,000 active contacts ($49/mo billed yearly)14-day free trial
ApolloSales platform with lead dataA contact database and sequences in one seat$65/seat/mo billed monthly ($49/seat/mo billed yearly)Free plan (900 credits a year, 2 sequences, Gmail sending only); 14-day trial on paid plans
DripifyLinkedIn automationLinkedIn-first outreach with email follow-ups$79/mo per user billed monthly ($59/mo billed yearly), one LinkedIn account per seat7-day free trial with Advanced features, no card

List prices in US dollars before tax, billed monthly unless noted. Checked October 15, 2026; Apollo checked October 29, 2026.

Cold email tools at a glance

FeatureInstantlylemlistReply.ioApolloDripify
Cheapest plan limit5,000 emails, 1,000 contacts a month50,000 emails a month1,000 active contacts, unlimited emails30,000 credits per seat a year (yearly); no email cap statedLinkedIn daily quotas; no email limit listed
Email warmupUnlimited, includedlemwarm, included in all plansIncluded with every mailboxIncluded on paid plansNot listed
Lead databaseExtra (Credits plans or bundles)Included (650M+ leads)Live data credits (50 a month on Multichannel)Included (240M+ contacts), revealed with creditsEmail finder, 100 credits a month
LinkedIn stepsNot listedMultichannel planAdd-on, $69/mo per accountNot listedCore feature
UsersNot statedUnlimited on Email planPer user on small tiers, unlimited on larger onesPer seat; all seats on one planPer seat (one LinkedIn account)
AI agentsAI Sales and Reply Agents (in bundles)lemAgent and AI agentsJason AI SDR, from $500/mo yearlyAI agents for research and outreachAI icebreaker variable

What cold email software does

Cold email software is a tool for sending first-contact sales emails at scale. You upload or find a list of prospects, write a short sequence, and the tool sends each step on a schedule, personalizes the details and stops when someone replies. A few terms you'll see:

  • Sequence (or campaign). A series of emails, for example a first email and two follow-ups a few days apart.
  • Warmup. Slowly building a new inbox's sending history so email providers trust it and don't send your messages to spam.
  • Deliverability. How much of your email lands in the inbox instead of the spam folder.
  • Sending account (mailbox). An email address the tool sends from. Spreading volume across several accounts keeps each one under safe limits.
  • Lead database and credits. A searchable list of business contacts. You usually spend credits to reveal an email address or phone number.
  • Multichannel. Mixing email with LinkedIn, calls, SMS or WhatsApp steps in one sequence.

How we chose

We picked cold email and outreach tools with self-serve plans and prices published in US dollars, and read each one's official pricing page: Instantly, lemlist, Reply.io and Dripify on October 15, 2026, and Apollo on October 29, 2026. We haven't tested them hands-on yet, so we can't tell you which one lands the most email in the inbox; we tell you what each plan includes, who it suits and what you pay.

We added Apollo on October 30, 2026, once its plan prices were readable. Waalaxy, another LinkedIn tool, isn't a full pick: on October 29, 2026 its page listed €19, €49 and €69 per user a month without saying which billing period those rates cover. Lusha and RocketReach are mainly contact-data tools (both also list basic email sending), so they're covered below as add-ons.

Instantly: best for high-volume cold email on a budget

Screenshot of the Instantly homepage
Instantly homepage, captured Oct 15, 2026. The live site may look different.

Cold email platform that sends from unlimited email accounts with built-in warmup, plus a B2B lead database, email verification, a CRM and AI agents for prospecting and replies.

Type
Cold email sender
Starts at
$47/mo, billed monthly ($37.60/mo billed yearly)
Free option
“Start free”, no card; trial length not stated

The cheapest paid plan includes:

  • 5,000 emails and 1,000 uploaded contacts a month (Outreach Growth)
  • Unlimited email accounts and warmup
  • Higher plans: 125,000 emails a month on Hypergrowth ($97/mo) and 500,000 on Light Speed ($358/mo)

The Outreach plans don’t include lead data. To search Instantly’s B2B database (450M+ leads, per the pricing page) you buy a Credits plan or a bundle; the Starter bundle is $94/mo ($85/mo yearly) and adds 1,500 credits a month and the AI Sales Agent. On the day we checked, the pricing page showed conflicting numbers in places (Hypergrowth at both $97 and $358 a month), so confirm the price at checkout.

Who it's for: Founders, freelancers and agencies who already have a list of prospects and want to send a lot of email from many inboxes without paying per inbox.

Skip it if: You need lead data and LinkedIn steps in the same plan. lemlist or Reply.io bundle more channels.

Source: instantly.ai/pricing, instantly.ai, checked October 15, 2026

lemlist: best for personalized outreach with lead data built in

Screenshot of the lemlist homepage
lemlist homepage, captured Oct 15, 2026. The live site may look different.

Sales engagement platform with a B2B lead database, AI personalization and automated campaigns across email, LinkedIn, calls, WhatsApp and SMS, plus deliverability and warmup tools.

Type
Sales engagement platform
Starts at
$69/mo, billed monthly ($55/mo billed yearly)
Free option
14-day free trial, no card

The cheapest paid plan includes:

  • 50,000 emails a month
  • Unlimited users and email senders
  • Email and phone number finder plus a 650M+ lead database
  • lemwarm warmup and a deliverability hub
  • CRM integrations and an API

LinkedIn, calls and SMS steps need the Multichannel plan: $109/mo ($87/mo yearly), priced by number of users, with WhatsApp as an add-on. The pricing page doesn’t say how many finder credits the Email plan includes; extra enrichment costs $20/mo for 2,000 credits (400 emails or 100 phone numbers). lemlist bills in dollars, euros or pounds depending on where you are; these are the prices shown to a US visitor.

Who it's for: Small sales teams who want to find leads, write personalized emails and keep inboxes healthy in one tool, with everyone on one price.

Skip it if: You only need to send email to a list you already own, at the lowest price. Instantly’s Growth plan costs less.

Source: lemlist.com/pricing, lemlist.com, checked October 15, 2026

Reply.io: best for multichannel sequences with an AI SDR option

Screenshot of the Reply.io homepage
Reply.io homepage, captured Oct 15, 2026. The live site may look different.

AI sales outreach platform for multichannel sequences across email, LinkedIn, WhatsApp, SMS and calls, with a B2B contact database and Jason, an AI SDR agent sold as a separate plan.

Type
Sales engagement platform
Starts at
$59/mo, billed monthly for 1,000 active contacts ($49/mo billed yearly)
Free option
14-day free trial

The cheapest paid plan includes:

  • Unlimited emails, priced by active contacts a month
  • Billed per user on the smaller contact tiers; larger tiers list unlimited users and mailboxes
  • Warmup included with every mailbox
  • CRM integrations (HubSpot, Salesforce, Pipedrive), Zapier, Make and an API

Prices rise with active contacts: 5,000 contacts cost $99/mo ($89 yearly). The Multichannel plan is $99 per user a month ($89 yearly), and LinkedIn automation ($69/mo) and calls and SMS ($29/mo) are add-ons per account. Jason, Reply.io’s AI SDR agent, is a separate plan from $800/mo ($500/mo yearly) for 1,000 contacts.

Who it's for: Teams that want email sequences now and room to add LinkedIn, WhatsApp, calls or an AI SDR later, without switching tools.

Skip it if: You want LinkedIn included in a low flat price. LinkedIn costs extra per account on every plan.

Source: reply.io/pricing, reply.io, checked October 15, 2026

Apollo: best for a contact database and sequences in one seat

Screenshot of the Apollo homepage
Apollo homepage, captured Oct 29, 2026. The live site may look different.

Sales platform with a B2B database of 240M+ contacts and 30M+ companies, email sequences, a dialer, call recording, CRM enrichment and AI agents for research and outreach.

Type
Sales platform with lead data
Starts at
$65/seat/mo, billed monthly ($49/seat/mo billed yearly)
Free option
Free plan (900 credits a year, 2 sequences, Gmail sending only); 14-day trial on paid plans

The cheapest paid plan includes:

  • 30,000 credits per seat a year on yearly billing (2,500 a month on monthly)
  • Unlimited sequences
  • Deliverability suite: email warmup, domain and mailbox purchasing
  • B2B database of 240M+ contacts and 30M+ companies, with CRM integrations and waterfall enrichment
  • US dialer (credits apply)

Professional is $99/seat/mo ($79 yearly) with 48,000 credits a year and A/Z testing; Organization is $119/seat on yearly billing only, for at least 3 seats. Credits are pooled across the team, reset each billing cycle and don’t roll over, and every seat must be on the same plan. Apollo labels these introductory prices. The plan table loads with JavaScript, so we read it in a browser on October 29, 2026. The plan details we read don’t state a monthly email-sending cap.

Who it's for: Sales reps and small teams who want to find contacts, email them in sequences and call them from one tool, paying per seat.

Skip it if: You already own your list and only want cheap, high-volume sending. Instantly’s Growth plan costs less for one sender and isn’t priced per seat.

Source: apollo.io/pricing, apollo.io, checked October 29, 2026

Dripify: best for linkedIn-first outreach with email follow-ups

Screenshot of the Dripify homepage
Dripify homepage, captured Oct 15, 2026. The live site may look different.

LinkedIn automation tool that runs multi-step outreach sequences across LinkedIn and email, with an email finder, AI icebreakers, team management and CRM integrations.

Type
LinkedIn automation
Starts at
$79/mo per user, billed monthly ($59/mo billed yearly), one LinkedIn account per seat
Free option
7-day free trial with Advanced features, no card

The cheapest paid plan includes:

  • Unlimited campaigns
  • Sequences that mix LinkedIn and email steps with delays and conditions
  • 100 email-finder credits a month
  • Daily quotas such as 75 connection requests and 100+ messages

Dripify is built around LinkedIn, not bulk email: its pricing page lists LinkedIn daily quotas but no email sending limits. Extra email-finder credits cost $29 for 1,000 up to $99 for 10,000, and monthly credits don’t roll over. Advanced is $99/mo ($79 yearly); the pricing page doesn’t spell out what it adds over Pro.

Who it's for: Consultants, recruiters and B2B sellers whose buyers are active on LinkedIn and who want email only as a follow-up channel.

Skip it if: Email is your main channel. A dedicated cold email tool gives you far higher sending limits.

Source: dripify.com/pricing, dripify.com, checked October 15, 2026

Need lead data? Tools to pair with a sender

If your sender has no database (Instantly's Outreach plans don't), you can buy contact data separately and upload it. They're mainly contact-data tools. Both also list email sequences, but we compare them here on data, not sending, so we don't rank them above.

ToolWhat you getStarts atFree option
LushaEmails and phone numbers; an email costs 1 credit, a phone number 5$49.90/mo billed monthly, 400 credits a month ($37.45/mo billed yearly)40 credits a month
RocketReachEssentials finds emails only; phone numbers start on Pro ($99/mo, $69/mo yearly)$49/mo billed monthly, 100 lookups a month ($329 a year)3 lookups
WaalaxyLinkedIn invitation and message sequences, an email finder and cold email follow-upsListed at €19 per user a month; billing period not stated14-day trial

Lusha and RocketReach prices in US dollars; Waalaxy's are shown in euros on the vendor's page. All read October 29, 2026. Lusha's and RocketReach's plan cards load with JavaScript, so we read them in a browser.

How to choose cold email software

Start from where your leads come from and which channel they answer on. Then match your situation below.

If you…Start withWhy
Already have a prospect list and want to send a lot of email cheaplyInstantlyUnlimited sending accounts and warmup from $47/mo
Need to find leads and email them from one toollemlistLead database, finders and warmup in the $69/mo Email plan
Want email now and LinkedIn, calls or an AI SDR laterReply.ioAdd channels and the Jason AI SDR as you grow
Want a contact database, sequences and a dialer on one per-seat billApolloFree plan to try; Basic is $65/seat/mo ($49 yearly) with 30,000 credits a year
Sell to people who reply on LinkedIn more than emailDripifyLinkedIn sequences with email follow-ups, per-seat pricing
Run outreach for several clientsInstantly or Reply.ioInstantly's limits are per plan, not per inbox; Reply.io sells agency plans

Check these before you pay

  • What the limit counts. Instantly caps emails and uploaded contacts, lemlist caps emails, Reply.io caps active contacts, Apollo caps data credits per seat and Dripify caps daily LinkedIn actions. Estimate your monthly volume first.
  • Lead data costs. A database search is often priced in credits on top of the plan. Count how many new contacts you need each month.
  • Per user or per account. lemlist's Email plan includes unlimited users; Apollo bills every seat on the same plan; Reply.io's Email Volume bills per user on its smaller tiers and lists unlimited users on larger ones; Dripify bills per LinkedIn account, and Reply.io's LinkedIn add-on is per account too.
  • Anti-spam law. In the US, the FTC's CAN-SPAM guide says business email needs honest subject lines, a postal address and a working opt-out. Other countries have stricter rules.
  • LinkedIn's rules. LinkedIn publishes a help page on prohibited software and extensions. Read it before you connect any automation tool to your account.

Writing the emails is the other half of the job. Our best AI writing tools guide covers tools that help you draft copy, and AI automation tools can move new replies into your CRM.

Torn between the two most popular picks? Our Instantly vs lemlist comparison works out the cost at three sending sizes.

Our suggestions are based on published plans, not hands-on tests. Use the free trial with one real campaign before you commit.

FAQ

What is cold email software?

Cold email software sends personalized emails to people who haven’t heard from you before, in automatic sequences with follow-ups. Most tools also warm up your inboxes, rotate sending accounts and stop the sequence when someone replies, so you can reach more prospects without sending each email by hand.

Is cold email legal?

In the US, yes, if you follow the CAN-SPAM Act. The FTC says it applies to business-to-business email too: use honest sender details and subject lines, include a valid postal address and a way to opt out, and honor opt-outs within 10 business days. Other countries have stricter rules, such as GDPR in the EU. This isn’t legal advice; check the rules where your prospects live.

Is there free cold email software?

Apollo is the only one of these five with a free plan: on October 29, 2026 it gave 900 credits a year and 2 sequences, sending from Gmail accounts only. On October 15, 2026, lemlist and Reply.io offered 14-day free trials, Dripify a 7-day trial, and Instantly a free start with no card, without a stated length.

How many cold emails can I send a month?

It depends on the plan. Instantly’s Growth plan allows 5,000 emails a month, lemlist’s Email plan 50,000, and Reply.io limits active contacts rather than emails. Sending more than your inboxes can handle hurts deliverability, which is why these tools spread volume across several warmed-up accounts.

Which is cheaper, Instantly or lemlist?

On October 30, 2026, Instantly’s Outreach Growth plan was $47/mo ($37.60 yearly) for 5,000 emails, and lemlist’s Email plan $69/mo ($55 yearly) for 50,000 emails. Instantly is cheaper to start, but lemlist includes a lead database; with Instantly, lead data costs extra.

Is Apollo a cold email tool?

Partly. Apollo is a sales platform that combines a B2B contact database with email sequences, warmup and a dialer. On October 29, 2026, Basic cost $65 per seat a month ($49 billed yearly) with 30,000 credits per seat a year. Choose it if you need lead data and sending in one place; a dedicated sender like Instantly costs less if you already have a list.

Do I need a separate lead database?

Only if your sender doesn’t include one. Instantly’s Outreach plans don’t, so many teams pair a sender with a data tool. On October 29, 2026, Lusha’s Starter plan was $49.90/mo billed monthly (an email costs 1 credit, a phone number 5), and RocketReach Essentials was $49/mo or $329 a year, emails only. lemlist and Apollo include a database.

Sources

Instantly, lemlist, Reply.io, Dripify, FTC and LinkedIn pages checked October 15, 2026; Apollo, Lusha, RocketReach and Waalaxy checked October 29, 2026.

See every tool in AI Sales & Lead Gen.